Independent reference site. Not a government website and not affiliated with any legislature or utility.Laws checked October 14, 2026

State law · California

Is plug-in solar legal in California?

California has signed a plug-in solar law, but it is not yet in effect as of October 14, 2026. SB 868 creates an exemption for qualifying systems with up to 1,200 W of AC inverter output. The Bright Saver tracker lists January 1, 2027 as the effective date; the legislature’s bill text does not state that date.

Where the bill stands
  1. Bill introducedSB 868
  2. Passed the legislaturedone
  3. SignedSep 30, 2026
  4. In effectJan 1, 2027
Signed, not yet in effect

California

SB 868 was signed on September 30, 2026 and takes effect on January 1, 2027.

Bill
SB 868
Signed
September 30, 2026
Takes effect
January 1, 2027
Size limit
1,200 W (inverter output, AC)
Utility notice
Utility may require it
Certification
certified as a plug-in photovoltaic system by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory; National Electrical Code; California Electrical Code (whole system)
Renters
The law does not say
HOA
The law does not say
Paid for exports
The law bars fees related to the power the device feeds into the building; it does not say whether exports are paid.
Utility fees
Banned by the law

Checked October 14, 2026

A typical year in California800 W kit · railing, facing south · near the state's population center
Service ZIP933xxCalifornia
811 kWhproduced in a typical year
$157saved per year
7.0yearsPayback on a $1,099 kit

471 kWh used at home × 33.25¢ = $156.62; 340 kWh sent to the grid unpaid, 0 kWh lost to the inverter limit. At California's average rate (EIA).

California: SignedSB 868 was signed on September 30, 2026 and takes effect on January 1, 2027.
Bill
SB 868
Limit
1,200 W AC

Production by month, kWh

0255075100kWhJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
  • Used at home
  • Sent to the grid

EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter + 2 × 400 W rigid panels, official store price checked Oct 14, 2026; sold out on that date.

Change it in the calculator
Where sources differ

Effective dateBright Saver states an effective date of Jan 1, 2027; official sources do not state an effective date in the bill text.

CertificationBright Saver specifies UL 3700; the official text requires certification by Underwriters Laboratories or equivalent but does not name UL 3700 specifically.

Kits that fit California's 1,200 W limit

The same table as on the kits page, filtered by California's size limit: 11 of 14 kits pass. The law also requires the whole system to be certified, so check the UL 3700 column and the product label before you buy. Prices from the official stores, with the date checked.

Plug-in solar kits with price, price per watt and certification
KitPanelsInverter limitBatteryUL 3700PricePer wattWhere to buy
EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter + 2 × 400 W rigid panels 800 W (2 × rigid) 1,200 W None UL 3700 status unknownchecked Oct 14, 2026 $1,099checked Oct 14, 2026sold out that day $1.37 Official site
Bright Saver Balcony Solar Kit 180 W (one panel) 180 W (1 × flexible) 360 W None Maker says it meets UL 3700; no UL listing foundchecked Oct 14, 2026 $285.30checked Oct 14, 2026member price; needs a paid membership $1.59 Official site
Craftstrom 1200 Watt Eco-Line Plug&Play Solar 1,200 W 1,200 W None Maker says it meets UL 3700; no UL listing foundchecked Oct 14, 2026 $2,250checked Oct 14, 2026 $1.88 Official site

All kits, with filters for every state

What the law says

SB 868 exempts qualifying portable solar devices from utility interconnection requirements once the law takes effect. The California legislature records its signing on September 30, 2026 and its chaptering by the Secretary of State. Bright Saver lists January 1, 2027 as the effective date, while the official bill text does not specify an effective date.

The legislature’s text sets a maximum aggregated output of 1,200 W AC per dwelling, not a panel DC wattage limit. It requires certification of the plug-in photovoltaic system by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory. Bright Saver describes this as requiring UL 3700, but the official text does not name UL 3700 specifically.

Your utility may require you to register the device, with its address, make, model and size, through a simple online form. For qualifying devices, the law removes interconnection-agreement requirements, prohibits requiring utility approval before installation or use, and bans charges related to the device or electricity it feeds into the building. These provisions do not establish an export payment or specify renter and HOA protections.

  • The system must meet the most recent National Electrical Code and California Electrical Code.
  • The device must include an isolation feature to prevent backfeeding during an outage.
  • The exemption section is scheduled for repeal on January 1, 2030.

Before you buy in California

Check the utility’s requirements and the complete system’s certification before buying; fitting the wattage cap alone is not enough. Until the exemption takes effect, do not treat SB 868 as permission to connect. Ask your utility about applicable requirements now and its notification or registration process under the new law.

Check your lease and ask your landlord or HOA about mounting and use of the intended space. The provisions described above do not establish an unconditional right to install on a rented balcony or HOA-controlled property. On the product label and certification documentation, look for certification of the complete plug-in photovoltaic system, not just a seller’s inverter-standard claim.

The calculator gives 811 kWh in a typical year for an 800 W panel kit with an 800 W inverter, mounted vertically facing south near California’s population center. With a 164 W home base load, 471 kWh is used at home and 340 kWh goes to the grid; at the EIA rate of 33.25 cents/kWh, that home use is worth $157 a year, assuming no export payment. The same kit tilted at 30° produces 1,354 kWh and saves $189 a year in the calculator; use the address calculator for your location.

  • EcoFlow STREAM packages with 400 W or 800 W of panels: inverter output up to 1,200 W AC fits the cap; the seller names UL 1741, but UL 3700 status is not published.
  • Mango Power S kit with 1,200 W of panels: inverter output up to 1,200 W AC fits the cap; UL 3700 status is not published.
  • Compare these in the kit listings, but verify full-system certification separately before treating a kit as qualifying.

Questions

When does California’s plug-in solar law take effect?

The Bright Saver tracker lists January 1, 2027. As of October 14, 2026, SB 868 is signed but not yet in effect; the official bill text does not state that effective date.

Is California’s limit for panels or the inverter?

SB 868 limits aggregated AC output to 1,200 W per dwelling. That is the inverter output limit, not a 1,200 W DC panel limit.

Do I have to notify my utility?

Only if your utility asks: the law lets a utility require notice through a simple online registration form. Once effective, the exemption bars requiring advance utility approval or an interconnection agreement for qualifying devices.

Will I get paid for exported electricity?

The cited provisions do not establish payment for exports. The California calculator example assumes no export payment and values only the electricity used at home.