Independent reference site. Not a government website and not affiliated with any legislature or utility.Laws checked October 14, 2026

State law · Ohio

Is plug-in solar legal in Ohio?

Not yet — Ohio had a plug-in solar bill (HB 755) pending in the legislature on October 14, 2026. The bill would carve out portable solar devices, set safety and testing requirements, and propose a size cap of 1,200 W if enacted.

Where the bill stands
  1. Bill introducedHB 755
  2. Passed the legislaturein progress
  3. Signednot yet
  4. In effectnot yet
Bill in progress

Ohio

HB 755 is moving through the legislature; there is no state plug-in solar law yet.

Bill
HB 755
Size limit in the bill
1,200 W (the bill does not say AC or DC)
Utility notice, in the bill
Would not be required
Certification in the bill
National Electrical Code; certified testing standards (scope not stated)

Checked October 14, 2026

A typical year in Ohio800 W kit · railing, facing south · near the state's population center
Service ZIP430xxOhio
655 kWhproduced in a typical year
$76saved per year
18.70¢/kWhAverage home rate, EIA

406 kWh used at home × 18.70¢ = $75.83; 250 kWh sent to the grid unpaid, 0 kWh lost to the inverter limit. At Ohio's average rate (EIA).

Ohio: Bill in progressHB 755 is moving through the legislature; there is no state plug-in solar law yet.
Bill
HB 755
Proposed
1,200 W

Production by month, kWh

020406080kWhJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
  • Used at home
  • Sent to the grid

Residential average, January to July 2026 (EIA Electric Power Monthly).

Open the calculator
Where sources differ

Statuslegislature page reading suggests "carryover-2027"; the Bright Saver tracker category is "bill-active" — the tracker category is used

What the bill says

House Bill 755 (HB 755) was pending in the Ohio legislature on October 14, 2026; the legislature lists the last action as "Introduced In House." Bright Saver shows the bill was carried over to 2027 for reconsideration.

The bill text would create new Revised Code sections for portable solar generation devices and describes connection via a household outlet using an integrated micro-inverter. It specifies safety and testing requirements including compliance with the National Electrical Code and certified testing standards.

HB 755 (as described in press materials) sets a maximum system size of 1,200 W; the bill text does not say whether that 1,200 W refers to AC or DC output. Bright Saver also reports the bill aims to exempt small systems from utility interconnection requirements and to allow outlet connection without utility approval.

Before you buy in Ohio

While HB 755 is pending, systems that do not connect to the grid need no interconnection approval — for example, a panel charging a portable power station. Portable power stations are sold with battery capacities and AC outputs (examples: EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus 2,048 Wh / 3,000 W; DELTA Pro 3 4,000 Wh / 4,000 W) and some models accept solar charging and AC charging methods.

If you want numbers for a grid-connected kit in Ohio, the calculator gives example production for the state's population-center area. In a typical year an 800 W kit mounted vertically and facing south produces 655 kWh; with a 164 W home base load the calculator estimates 406 kWh (62%) is used at home and 250 kWh exports, and the home-used power is worth $76 a year ($758 over 10 years, exports paid 0). Tilted at 30° the same 800 W kit produces 1,020 kWh and saves $93 a year.

A 1,200 W kit (as described in the bill) is estimated by the calculator to produce 983 kWh a year, with 46% used at home and a home-use value of $85 a year. Use the calculator for your address and kits to compare model specs.

Questions

Do you need utility approval under HB 755?

The Bright Saver tracker reports HB 755 would exempt small plug-in systems from utility interconnection requirements and allow connection without utility approval. The bill text available on the legislature site focuses on portable solar devices and safety/testing standards.

What is the size limit in the bill?

HB 755 describes a maximum system size of 1,200 W. The bill text does not specify whether that 1,200 W is AC or DC output.

What is the bill's status and timing?

On October 14, 2026 the legislature record shows HB 755 as "Introduced In House." Bright Saver lists the bill as carryover to 2027 for reconsideration.