Independent reference site. Not a government website and not affiliated with any legislature or utility.Laws checked October 14, 2026

State law · Connecticut

Is plug-in solar legal in Connecticut?

Yes. Connecticut's HB 5340 (Public Act No. 26-127) allows plug-in solar and sets a 1,200 W size limit. The law was signed June 4, 2026 and has been in effect since October 1, 2026.

Where the bill stands
  1. Bill introducedHB 5340
  2. Passed the legislaturedone
  3. SignedJun 4, 2026
  4. In effectOct 1, 2026
In effect

Connecticut

HB 5340 was signed on June 4, 2026 and has been in effect since October 1, 2026.

Bill
HB 5340
Signed
June 4, 2026
In effect since
October 1, 2026
Size limit
1,200 W (the law does not say AC or DC)One device per electric meter.
Utility notice
The act does not mention notice to the utility; it bars requiring the utility's approval.
Certification
certified by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory; UL 1741; IEEE 1547; National Electric Code (NFPA-70); State Building Code (whole system)
Renters
The law does not say
HOA
The law does not say
Paid for exports
Utility does not have to payPower beyond the home's own use is charged to the customer as usage unless the meter allows net metering; the device must carry this warning.
Utility fees
Banned by the law

Checked October 14, 2026

A typical year in Connecticut800 W kit · railing, facing south · near the state's population center
Service ZIP064xxConnecticut
734 kWhproduced in a typical year
$118saved per year
9.3yearsPayback on a $1,099 kit

421 kWh used at home × 27.97¢ = $117.88; 313 kWh sent to the grid unpaid, 0 kWh lost to the inverter limit. At Connecticut's average rate (EIA).

Connecticut: In effectHB 5340 was signed on June 4, 2026 and has been in effect since October 1, 2026.
Bill
HB 5340
Limit
1,200 W

Production by month, kWh

020406080kWhJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
  • Used at home
  • Sent to the grid

EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter + 2 × 400 W rigid panels, official store price checked Oct 14, 2026; sold out on that date.

Change it in the calculator

Kits that fit Connecticut's 1,200 W limit

The same table as on the kits page, filtered by Connecticut's size limit: 11 of 14 kits pass. The law also requires the whole system to be certified, so check the UL 3700 column and the product label before you buy. Prices from the official stores, with the date checked.

Plug-in solar kits with price, price per watt and certification
KitPanelsInverter limitBatteryUL 3700PricePer wattWhere to buy
EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter + 2 × 400 W rigid panels 800 W (2 × rigid) 1,200 W None UL 3700 status unknownchecked Oct 14, 2026 $1,099checked Oct 14, 2026sold out that day $1.37 Official site
Bright Saver Balcony Solar Kit 180 W (one panel) 180 W (1 × flexible) 360 W None Maker says it meets UL 3700; no UL listing foundchecked Oct 14, 2026 $285.30checked Oct 14, 2026member price; needs a paid membership $1.59 Official site
Craftstrom 1200 Watt Eco-Line Plug&Play Solar 1,200 W 1,200 W None Maker says it meets UL 3700; no UL listing foundchecked Oct 14, 2026 $2,250checked Oct 14, 2026 $1.88 Official site

All kits, with filters for every state

What the law says

Connecticut enacted HB 5340 (Public Act No. 26-127), signed June 4, 2026 and in effect since October 1, 2026, to create a class for small plug-in solar devices (Connecticut legislature).

The statute caps plug-in systems at 1,200 W; the text does not say whether that limit refers to AC or DC output. It exempts one device per meter from standard interconnection-agreement requirements and says utilities may not require approval, charges, or additional equipment (Connecticut legislature).

The law requires an anti-islanding feature that prevents energizing the building during an outage, compliance with the National Electric Code (NFPA-70) and IEEE 1547, and certification by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory meeting UL 1741. It also requires a consumer warning that excess generation will be charged as usage unless the customer has a meter that allows net metering. The Bright Saver tracker lists the same bill, dates and cap (Bright Saver).

  • Signed: June 4, 2026 (Public Act No. 26-127).
  • Effective: October 1, 2026.
  • Size cap: 1,200 W; statute does not specify AC or DC.
  • Certification: UL 1741 / IEEE 1547 / NEC and third-party listing required.
  • Interconnection: one device per meter; exempt from standard agreements.
  • Export: excess generation may be billed unless meter supports net metering.

Before you buy in Connecticut

Confirm your meter and export treatment with your electric utility even though the law bars utilities from requiring approval or extra equipment. The statute warns that exported energy may be billed as usage unless your meter supports net metering, so ask whether your meter credits exported energy or treats exports as consumption (Connecticut legislature).

Check lease terms or HOA rules before you buy: the state law creates allowances at the regulator level but does not remove private lease or covenant restrictions. Also verify third-party certification on the product label or seller page; the statute requires certification by UL or an equivalent nationally recognized testing lab and conformity with UL 1741, IEEE 1547 and the NEC.

Use the calculator numbers to compare kits. The calculator gives a typical-year output for an 800 W kit mounted vertically and facing south of 734 kWh, with 421 kWh (57%) used at home and 313 kWh exported; at 27.97 cents per kWh the home-used energy is worth $118 a year. Tilted at 30° the same 800 W produces 1,069 kWh and saves $142 a year, and a 1,200 W kit produces 1,102 kWh and is worth $131 a year (the calculator; EIA rate).

  • Confirm your meter and export crediting with the utility before buying.
  • Check lease or HOA restrictions on installations.
  • Verify third-party certification (UL 1741 / IEEE 1547 / NEC) on the product label or seller page.
  • Examples that fit the 1,200 W cap in seller listings include EcoFlow STREAM bundles (400 W and 800 W panel options) and the Mango Power S 1200W kit; check store pages for current stock and prices.

Questions

What size limit does Connecticut set for plug-in solar?

The law caps plug-in solar at 1,200 W. The statute text does not specify whether that limit refers to AC or DC output (Connecticut legislature).

Do I need utility approval to install a plug-in solar kit in Connecticut?

No. The statute exempts these small systems from standard interconnection-agreement requirements and says utilities may not require approval, charges, or additional equipment. Still, check with your utility about how exported energy is treated because the law warns exports may be billed unless the meter supports net metering (Connecticut legislature).

What certifications must a kit have to meet the law?

The statute requires certification by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory and calls out compliance with UL 1741, IEEE 1547 and the National Electric Code. Verify the product or seller page shows an explicit third-party listing (Connecticut legislature).

How much will an 800 W kit save in Connecticut?

The calculator gives typical-year estimates: an 800 W kit vertical and south produces 734 kWh, with 421 kWh used at home and $118 saved at 27.97 cents per kWh; tilted at 30° it produces 1,069 kWh and saves $142 a year (the calculator).