Idaho
HB 612 was deferred to the 2027 session; there is no state plug-in solar law yet.
- Bill
- HB 612
- Size limit in the bill
- no law yet
Checked October 14, 2026
State law · Idaho
Idaho has no plug-in solar law in force as of October 14, 2026. HB 612 did not pass in 2026. That does not establish that every grid-connected kit is legal or illegal: the proposal is not permission to connect a kit to your home.
381 kWh used at home × 12.96¢ = $49.43; 347 kWh sent to the grid unpaid, 61 kWh lost to the inverter limit. At Idaho's average rate (EIA).
Residential average, January to July 2026 (EIA Electric Power Monthly).
Open the calculatorStatusBrightSaver reports the bill was deferred to 2027; the Idaho Legislature page shows bill actions in February 2026 but no statement of deferral.
Statuslegislature page reading suggests "bill-active"; the Bright Saver tracker category is "carryover-2027" — the tracker category is used
HB 612 remains a proposal, not an enacted exemption for plug-in solar. The Idaho Legislature summarizes its purpose as “Amends and adds to existing law to exempt portable solar generators from public utilities.” If passed, it would create that exemption; the summary does not establish its detailed conditions.
The sources differ on how they describe the bill’s status. Bright Saver reports that HB 612 was deferred to 2027 for reconsideration. The Legislature’s latest listed action is “02/11 Reported Printed and Referred to State Affairs,” with no statement of deferral.
Before buying, check with your utility about its requirements for a grid-connected kit and with your landlord or HOA about the proposed installation. The Legislature’s summary does not specify a power cap, utility-notice process, certification standard, renter protection, HOA restriction, or export-payment rule. Do not assume the proposal settles any of those questions.
A portable power station charged by a solar panel offers an option that needs no connection to your home’s grid wiring. EcoFlow says its DELTA Pro 3 supports solar charging. Homeowners can also request rooftop solar quotes rather than wait for a plug-in solar exemption.
For a possible future permitted installation, the calculator gives 790 kWh in a typical year for a south-facing, vertical kit near Idaho’s population center, with 800 W of panels and an 800 W inverter limit. With a home base load of 164 W, it values the electricity used at home at $49 a year, using EIA’s Idaho residential rate of 12.96 cents/kWh for January through July 2026 and no payment for exports.
For the same kit facing south at a 30° tilt, the calculator gives 1,187 kWh a year and $62 in annual savings. These estimates compare placement options; they are not authorization to connect a system.
Bright Saver says the bill was deferred to 2027 and will be reconsidered. The Idaho Legislature’s page does not confirm that deferral, so a return is expected rather than assured.
The Legislature’s summary does not state a power limit. The 800 W size used here is a calculator scenario, not an enacted Idaho cap.
HB 612 did not pass in 2026, so it provides no enacted renter protection. The Legislature’s summary also does not describe landlord or HOA provisions.