Independent reference site. Not a government website and not affiliated with any legislature or utility.Laws checked October 14, 2026

State law · Utah

Is plug-in solar legal in Utah?

Yes. Utah permits plug-in (portable) solar under HB 340, which sets a maximum power output of 1,200 W and has been in effect since May 7, 2025. The law requires UL (or equivalent) certification, NEC compliance and anti-islanding/outage protection.

Where the bill stands
  1. Bill introducedHB 340
  2. Passed the legislaturedone
  3. SignedMar 25, 2025
  4. In effectMay 7, 2025
In effect

Utah

HB 340 was signed on March 25, 2025 and has been in effect since May 7, 2025.

Bill
HB 340
Signed
March 25, 2025
In effect since
May 7, 2025
Size limit
1,200 W (the law does not say AC or DC)
Utility notice
The law does not say
Certification
certified by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory; National Electrical Code (whole system)
Renters
The law does not say
HOA
The law does not say
Paid for exports
Not subject to the net metering program requirements; the law does not say whether exports are paid.
Utility fees
Banned by the law

Checked October 14, 2026

A typical year in Utah800 W kit · railing, facing south · near the state's population center
Service ZIP841xxUtah
804 kWhproduced in a typical year
$59saved per year
18.6yearsPayback on a $1,099 kit

448 kWh used at home × 13.16¢ = $58.98; 356 kWh sent to the grid unpaid, 0 kWh lost to the inverter limit. At Utah's average rate (EIA).

Utah: In effectHB 340 was signed on March 25, 2025 and has been in effect since May 7, 2025.
Bill
HB 340
Limit
1,200 W

Production by month, kWh

0255075100kWhJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
  • Used at home
  • Sent to the grid

EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter + 2 × 400 W rigid panels, official store price checked Oct 14, 2026; sold out on that date.

Change it in the calculator

Kits that fit Utah's 1,200 W limit

The same table as on the kits page, filtered by Utah's size limit: 11 of 14 kits pass. The law also requires the whole system to be certified, so check the UL 3700 column and the product label before you buy. Prices from the official stores, with the date checked.

Plug-in solar kits with price, price per watt and certification
KitPanelsInverter limitBatteryUL 3700PricePer wattWhere to buy
EcoFlow STREAM Microinverter + 2 × 400 W rigid panels 800 W (2 × rigid) 1,200 W None UL 3700 status unknownchecked Oct 14, 2026 $1,099checked Oct 14, 2026sold out that day $1.37 Official site
Bright Saver Balcony Solar Kit 180 W (one panel) 180 W (1 × flexible) 360 W None Maker says it meets UL 3700; no UL listing foundchecked Oct 14, 2026 $285.30checked Oct 14, 2026member price; needs a paid membership $1.59 Official site
Craftstrom 1200 Watt Eco-Line Plug&Play Solar 1,200 W 1,200 W None Maker says it meets UL 3700; no UL listing foundchecked Oct 14, 2026 $2,250checked Oct 14, 2026 $1.88 Official site

All kits, with filters for every state

What the law says

HB 340 defines a portable solar generation device and sets a maximum power output of 1,200 W; the statute text does not say whether that 1,200 W refers to AC or DC output. The legislature records the Governor’s signature on March 25, 2025, and the enrolled bill took effect on May 7, 2025.

The law exempts these portable devices from the usual interconnection requirements and from entering an interconnection agreement. The legislature's text says an electrical corporation may not require customer approval before installation, and may not charge fees or require additional equipment beyond what is integrated into the system.

HB 340 requires the system to be certified by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory, to meet the National Electrical Code and to include a feature that prevents the device from energizing the building during a power outage. The statute also says the device is designed to connect through a standard 120-volt AC outlet. Bright Saver notes the bill does not require landlord permission and gives no answer on whether an HOA can prohibit systems.

  • Cap: 1,200 W (statute text does not specify AC or DC)
  • No utility approval, interconnection agreement or related fees required
  • Must be UL-certified (or equivalent) and meet the NEC
  • Must include anti-islanding/outage protection
  • Designed to connect via a standard 120-volt AC outlet
  • Bright Saver: landlord permission not required by the bill; no answer on HOA bans

Before you buy in Utah

Check three things before you buy: the product label for the required certification and safety features, your lease or HOA rules, and the kit's expected production at your location using the calculator. Confirm the full system is certified by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent lab and that anti-islanding/outage protection is included as the statute requires.

Several kits in official stores meet the 1,200 W cap. Examples from sellers: EcoFlow STREAM with a 400 W panel and inverter output up to 1,200 W ($799 on the official store, checked October 14, 2026), EcoFlow STREAM with 2 × 400 W panels (800 W of panels, inverter up to 1,200 W; $1,099 on the official store, sold out on October 14, 2026), and Mango Power S 1200W (1,200 W of panels and inverter up to 1,200 W; $2,698 on the official store, checked October 14, 2026). EcoFlow lists UL 1741; UL 3700 status is not published for those listings.

The calculator gives site-specific estimates. For Utah's population-center area it shows an 800 W kit mounted vertically and facing south produces 804 kWh a year; 448 kWh (56%) is used at home and 356 kWh is exported, and at 13.16 cents/kWh the used power is worth $59 a year (exports paid $0). Tilted 30° the same 800 W kit produces 1,222 kWh and saves $70 a year. A 1,200 W kit vertical south produces 1,207 kWh and saves $64 a year. Individual years vary by about 4%.

  • Confirm system-level UL (or equivalent) certification and anti-islanding/outage protection
  • Check your lease and HOA restrictions before buying
  • Run your address in the calculator and compare kits on the kits list

Questions

Do I need my utility's permission to use a plug-in solar device?

No. The statute says an electrical corporation may not require a customer to obtain the utility's approval before installing or using a portable solar generation device and exempts these devices from interconnection requirements.

What size system is allowed in Utah?

HB 340 sets a maximum power output of 1,200 W. The bill text does not specify whether that limit is AC or DC.

Can an HOA or landlord stop me from using a plug-in solar kit?

The law does not require landlord permission according to Bright Saver, and the tracker gives no answer on HOA bans. Check your lease and HOA rules before installing a kit.

What safety features must the product have?

The statute requires certification by Underwriters Laboratories or an equivalent nationally recognized testing laboratory, compliance with the National Electrical Code and a device or feature that prevents the system from energizing the building during a power outage.