Independent reference site. Not a government website and not affiliated with any legislature or utility.Laws checked October 14, 2026

State law · Louisiana

Is plug-in solar legal in Louisiana?

There is no plug-in solar bill in Louisiana as of October 14, 2026. That means state law does not define or protect small plug-in systems and utilities can still require interconnection review, permits and fees.

No bill yet: none of the four steps has started
  1. Bill introducednot yet
  2. Passed the legislaturenot yet
  3. Signednot yet
  4. In effectnot yet
No bill

Louisiana

No plug-in solar bill has been introduced in Louisiana.

Size limit
no plug-in solar law or bill
Utility notice
Utility may require it
Utility fees
Allowed

Checked October 14, 2026

A typical year in Louisiana800 W kit · railing, facing south · near the state's population center
Service ZIP707xxLouisiana
702 kWhproduced in a typical year
$56saved per year
13.35¢/kWhAverage home rate, EIA

422 kWh used at home × 13.35¢ = $56.35; 280 kWh sent to the grid unpaid, 0 kWh lost to the inverter limit. At Louisiana's average rate (EIA).

Louisiana: No billNo plug-in solar bill has been introduced in Louisiana.
Bill
—
Proposed
—

Production by month, kWh

0255075100kWhJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDec
  • Used at home
  • Sent to the grid

Residential average, January to July 2026 (EIA Electric Power Monthly).

Open the calculator

What the law says now

Bright Saver’s tracker reports that no plug-in solar bill has been introduced in Louisiana as of October 14, 2026, and classifies the state as “currently unregulated.” The tracker summary says the topic remains a legal gray area where no statutory protections for consumers are in place.

Because no bill has been passed, key details are not specified by state law. Bright Saver’s table lists the maximum system size, permit requirement and utility notification as N/A, and it notes utilities may require interconnection review, permits and fees.

  • No bill introduced (Bright Saver tracker, checked October 14, 2026).
  • Utilities can require interconnection review, permits and fees (Bright Saver).
  • Maximum system size, permit requirement and notification are not specified (Bright Saver).

Options without a law

If you want power without involving the grid, a portable power station charged by a panel is an option that does not need a utility interconnection. EcoFlow models show typical portable-station capacities and outputs—examples include units with 2,048 Wh to 4,000 Wh battery capacity and 1,800 W to 4,000 W AC output—so you can pick a size that matches your appliances.

Homeowners who can install rooftop panels can still get traditional rooftop quotes from installers. To see how much a small balcony-style kit would produce at Louisiana’s population center, use the calculator or check kit listings on the kits page.

  • EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus: 2,048 Wh capacity, 3,000 W AC output (manufacturer spec).
  • EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3: 4,000 Wh capacity, 4,000 W AC output (manufacturer spec).
  • Smaller EcoFlow TRAIL models: 192–288 Wh capacity, ~220–300 W output (manufacturer specs).
  • Rooftop PV remains a separate option for homeowners; installers can quote systems sized to your roof.

Questions

Is plug-in solar legal in Louisiana?

No state bill has been introduced for plug-in solar in Louisiana as of October 14, 2026 (Bright Saver tracker). That leaves the matter unregulated at the state level; utilities retain discretion over interconnection, permits and fees.

Will my utility require a permit or notification?

Bright Saver reports that, in Louisiana’s current legal gray area, utilities may require interconnection review, permits and fees. The state tracker shows permit and notification fields as not specified by state law.

How much would an 800 W kit produce here?

The calculator gives two examples for an 800 W kit at Louisiana’s population center: mounted vertical it produces 702 kWh/year (422 kWh used at home, 280 kWh exported) and saves $56/year at 13.35 cents/kWh; tilted 30° it produces 1,197 kWh/year and saves $71/year. The calculator assumes a 164 W home base load and that exports are paid $0; individual years vary by about 4%.

Can I avoid the utility by using a battery?

Yes — a portable power station charged by solar panels does not need a grid interconnection. Manufacturer specs show portable stations ranging from about 192 Wh to 4,000 Wh capacity and 220 W to 4,000 W AC output, so choose a model sized for your loads.